PHILIP’S SURPRISE

 

One day the children of Galilee were out in the fields where Jesus was teaching.  It had been a long day and they were a long way from home.  The children listened to the Master’s words with joy and would gladly have heard many more stories, but just then Andrew, one of the disciples, came up to Jesus.  “Master,” he said, “the people are hungry.  Let’s send them into the town now so they can buy food.”

Jesus got to his feet, stretched, and said, “You feed them.”

Andrew looked surprised.  “Us?  Why, we have no food with us and we certainly do not have enough money to feed all these people!  Why there must be 5,000 men alone; not counting the women and children!”

While Andrew was giving all the reasons why they could not do such a thing, Philip stepped over to him and tugged on his cloak.  I’ll share my bread and fishes!  Mama fixed them for me!”

Andrew turned back to Jesus, “Master, this little fellow offered his lunch.  But what good can that do for so many?”

Do you think Jesus might have answered with a song?

“Put it in my hands with the faith of a child.

Put it in my hands, trusting all the while.

Put it in my hands and you will see it grow;

become a blessing to us all, to body and to soul!”

Perhaps Philip sang with Jesus:

“Master, take my bread,

take my fishes, too.

Use them as you will,

Master, I love you!

Master, take my life; take the things I do.

Use them as you will, Master, I love you!”

“Put it in my hands; I’ll bless and break it there.

Put it in my hands; I’ll multiply your share!

With you in my hands, we’ll feed a hungry world;

make a banquet rich and sweet to feed a hungry worldl!”

Jesus thanked Philip for the bread and fishes and, taking them into his hands, bowed his head and asked for God’s blessing on them.  The children watched and laughed with delight as he began handing the food to the disciples.  First one fish, then two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight!  More and more fish!  And more and more bread!  Every time he gave some away, there was more in the basket!  Soon all the mothers and fathers  as well as the children had been fed as much as they could possibly hold, and Jesus told his disciples to pick up the leftovers.  Twelve baskets full!

“That’s our friend!” laughed the children and they all tried to hug him at once.

About dswan2

Poet, author, columnist, lyricist, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, wife of 50 years. Born and raised in America's Heartland
This entry was posted in EXTRAS, PATCHES and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to PHILIP’S SURPRISE

  1. Joe Zakarian says:

    Loaves and fishes, a touching example of having faith! Thanks, Donna, for yet another reminder of our Lord’s good works.
    Joe

  2. dswan2 says:

    Thank you, Joe. I’m glad you liked it! It’s fun to look at Scriptures from a child’s point of view or of the people who were more like us than we sometimes think.

Leave a Reply

