Tribute

I am beauty.

I am lilting music and sparkling jewels,

flashing eyes and tossing heads.

I am freedom.

I am childhood’s yearning for new horizons,

lived out in the security of the familiar.

I am an oasis in time.

An eternal joy.

I am yesterday and tomorrow forever captured

in this present iridescence of color.

I am laughter and delight.

I am movement.

I am the rhythm of silver hooves

and twinkling lights.

I am Neverland,

Utopia,

the Elysian fields.

I am the Carousel!

c.2011 Donna Swanson

About dswan2

Poet, author, columnist, lyricist, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, wife of 50 years. Born and raised in America's Heartland
This entry was posted in EXTRAS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tribute

  1. lunawitch15 says:

    I still love the carousel! i see one and instatly turn into a child and beg anyone to ride a horse beside me! loved this!

    • dswan2 says:

      Thank you, Luna! I carved horses for about ten years before I had to give it up after an auto accident. I still love the smell of sawdust and new wood. I’ll be posting some of the poetry from that time now and then.

Leave a Reply

