SEASONS OF LOVE

When summer sings in August

and the fruit is on the vine;

When the warmth of summer sunshine

spreads across the fields like wine;

It’s then that I love you.

Oh, it’s then that I love you!

And I thank the Lord above

for giving us this singing summer love!

~~

When autumn’s golden harvest

lies in splendor at our feet;

when the spicy taste of apples turns our kisses bitter sweet.

It’s then that I love you.

Oh, it’s then that I love you!

And I thank the Lord above

for giving us this golden autumn love!

~~

When winter spreads her snowy wings,

crystal showers fill the skies;

And the firelight glowing softly

shines reflected in your eyes.

It’s then that I love you.

Oh, it’s then that I love you!

And I thank the Lord above

for giving us this soft warm winter love!

~~

When Springtime gilds the meadow

With dewdrop pearls and flowers,

And the tender song of bluebirds drifts into our secret bower;

Oh, it’s then that I love you.

It’s then that I love you!

And I thank the Lord above

For giving us this tender Springtime love!

c.2011, Donna Swanson

About dswan2

Poet, author, columnist, lyricist, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, wife of 50 years. Born and raised in America's Heartland
This entry was posted in EXTRAS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SEASONS OF LOVE

  1. Reflections says:

    Love the imagery and transitions throughout the seasons. Beautiful write.

  2. Beautiful love poem encompassing all the seasons. I love it!

  3. I the the seasons and your presentation of them is just excellent. Thank you for sharing this.

    • dswan2 says:

      I visited your blog but there was no place to leave a comment. So, sent an email but that came back deliverable. I did enjoy your apt description of a thunderstorm. A mismatch here and there between subject and verb, but well-done over all. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Jingle says:

    giggling piece, uplifting and smiling words on summer and love, life.

    enjoyed your entry.
    Happy Potluck!

  5. Happy bright lovely piece a joyful read. 🙂

  6. marit says:

    i love this season-appropriate poem 🙂

  7. Joel Hall says:

    It is now that I love this poem. Well done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

