MY SON

 

 

My son, who is not my son.

Who are you, that the simple fact of your birth

should so stir the hosts of Heaven?

Mary calls you Messiah.

Can that really be true?

Would God send His Son toIsrael

so tiny?

so defenseless?

Would He put you so trustingly into my hands?

 

It’s been so long since God spoke toIsrael.

And now it seems all Heaven is cradling this place

in the hands of angels!

The miracle of your perfection,

the purity of your innocence bathes my soul in wonder;

and I kneel amazed before the love of God.

 

I cannot give you the throne of David,

only a humble carpenter’s shop.

I have no deep wisdom to share with you,

save the satisfaction of a task well and honestly done.

 

But I vow with all my strength to be a good father to you, Son.

To keep you safe and warm,

and share with you the joy of living.

Thank God for you, my son!

c.2011 Donna Swanson/Splinters of Light

About dswan2

Poet, author, columnist, lyricist, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, wife of 50 years. Born and raised in America's Heartland
This entry was posted in EXTRAS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to MY SON

  1. zongrik says:

    “I cannot give you the throne of David” reminds me of “He shall build a house for My name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom for ever.”

    http://zongrik.wordpress.com/2011/10/13/son/

  2. Godly entry,

    bless you and your faith.
    cheers!

  3. Joe Zakarian says:

    Beautiful………………God is LOVE !

  4. Morning says:

    creative and beautiful.

    🙂

  5. Kay Salady says:

    One can only imagine how Joseph must have felt to have raised our Redeemer. The spirit of the Lord abides within you and flows through your pen to paint a glorious testimony. Thank you!

  6. Thank you, Kay, and all of you. I appreciate your kind words more than you know.

  7. Sweet! Such a beautiful sentiment 🙂

Leave a Reply

