A CHILD SAYS THANK YOU

Dear God,

Thank you for my bed so soft

when others have no bed at all.

Thank you for the food I eat

when others beg upon the street.

Thank you for my toys so bright.

Thank you for my door at night,

shutting out the things that frighten me.

 

Thank you for my Mom and Dad

and for the way they make me glad.

They are so strong and very kind;

forgive me when I cling or whine.

They teach me things I need to know,

like how to pray and how to grow

into a loving, caring child.

 

And while I thank you for my home

For those I love and those I know.

Open my mind to those who seek

A loving hand to help them meet

The cares of life and help them find

A home as warm and safe as mine!

 

Amen.

About dswan2

Poet, author, columnist, lyricist, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, wife of 50 years. Born and raised in America's Heartland
This entry was posted in EXTRAS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A CHILD SAYS THANK YOU

  1. mbwilliams says:

    Your poem is a wonderful tribute to the art of gratitude. Today I am grateful to have read it.

    • dswan2 says:

      Thank you, friend! I was sad to see that I had only a few poems dedicated to thankfulness. I shall try to remedy that in days to come.

  2. Morning says:

    This is innocent and sweet,

    well penned.

    🙂

  3. Joe Zakarian says:

    Giving thanks for another beautiful day!
    Love to all,
    Joe

Leave a Reply

