SOUL ON TIPTOE

 

They don’t understand me, God.

And I don’t know how to tell them,

for I don’t understand either.

 

My spirit leaps upward

and runs on feet so light

they must surely dance on the North Star

and leave Earth weeping below!

 

My heart sings

with wordless tongue so beautiful

I fear it will burst with singing!

 

New worlds appear.

New rhythms dance within me

and I would be away!

Away!

 

Away…

Where am I bound?

What far country beckons?

What is this new song,

this rhythm within?

 

My soul stands on tiptoe

as, hands uplifted to tomorrow,

I turn again to yesterday.

I see a place where love is free

and laughter echoes back to me.

A place I knew so well

and never thought to leave.

With warmth,

laughter,

love

and singing trees.

 

But I must be away!

Soft winds call

and I cannot stay.

 

Weep for me, curly headed dolls.

Cry for the little girl

with jelly flavored kisses

who will march no more to the fairy band.

 

She’s going away you see.

Yes, she’s forgotten you.

She must fly from misty eyed mothers

and safe harbors.

 

Ah, but don’t weep too long

for I am bound from love to love;

and if the bridge on which I stand

seems weak and fearsome,

still I must cross it.

 

But lightly,

so lightly!

For my spirit soars

and I must be away!

Trembling to the rhythm within

I turn to tomorrow.

 

c.2000, Donna Swanson

 

About dswan2

Poet, author, columnist, lyricist, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, wife of 50 years. Born and raised in America's Heartland
This entry was posted in EXTRAS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SOUL ON TIPTOE

  1. Donna! omg! I was reading this and was thinking how much I loved it and then when I saw my award on here i was even happier! I didn’t know you had posted this to my wish jar!!!! PLEASE post the link back here in reply to the wish jar so others can find it! It is BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!! a wonderful addition! Thank you!!!!!

    Kellie

  2. ps…. if you are on twitter follow me and i will follow u back @BackyardPonders 🙂

  3. Joe Zakarian says:

    Bless this lovely little Angel as she flits from heart to heart!

  4. Morning says:

    playful thoughts, wow.

  5. 🙂 another take on my offering as well, it was interesting to read, as if the muse was playing with us all lol. “turn to the rhythm” yes, indeed!!! lovely piece!
    My entry: http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/11/27/wind-chime-melody/

  6. Poets Rally says:

    enchanting imagery.

    Welcome joining us for poets rally week 57,
    A random poem or a free verse is okay.
    Hope to see you in.

    Happy Weekend!
    Your input is highly appreciated!
    Xoxox

  7. Poets Rally says:

    notice that you won the perfect poet award for poets rally week 57, welcome take it,

    fabulous poetry along the way, truly enjoyed your lasting support.

    keep rocking.
    smiles.

    xoxox

Leave a Reply

