SCRATCHY BUMPS!

I scratch my head,

I scratch my toes,

I scratch my elbows and my nose.

 

Mommy brings some Calamine

and puts it on my scratches,

but the itchy, scratchy bumps

keep popping up in batches!

 

I can’t go play with Bob and Bill;

my Mommy won’t allow it.

She says I might give them my itches;

“I won’t!” I really shout it!

 

But Mommy feels my forehead

and asks me if I hurt.

I want to say, “I’m feeling fine!”
but my tummy kinda hurts.

 

So here I lie upon my bed

in jammies and no socks;

Trying to keep from scratching

these nasty Chicken Pox!

c.2012 Donna Swanson

 

About dswan2

Poet, author, columnist, lyricist, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, wife of 50 years. Born and raised in America's Heartland
This entry was posted in EXTRAS and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SCRATCHY BUMPS!

  1. Cute!

    I had chicken pox as a child, and still have a few scars from giving in to temptation and scratching. It itched like mad!

  2. Taylor says:

    This is fun to read, love the playfulness in it.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

